May 24, 2009

playa' hating.

i wouldn't call myself a hardcore basketball fan, but when the playoffs are on, i. pay. attention. my number one team? lakers, no doubt. i was born and raised in southern california, would it be any other way?

there has been something i noticed though and i hear this EVERYWHERE. whenever the lakers win (which is a lot), people who aren't fans automatically pull out the "kobe bryant is such a jerk" card.

huh?

apparently the other teams lose because kobe's immense arrogance just blows them out of the court. it's not that they're better, it's not that the other team just couldn't close the deal, it's because kobe is too full of himself. oh and he's a cheater.

these 2 points are ALWAYS brought up after a win by the haters. why? i don't know. i'm not denying that kobe probably is very into himself, but is that really a surprise? he is one of the top, if not the best, players currently in the nba. if i was him, i would definitely think i am the shizz. and he cheated on his wife. there's no justifying that, but again, it's not a rare occurence in professional sports. either way, what does that even have to do with the GAME? regardless of his personality or marital discrepencies, he is a supremely talented basketball player and he works just as hard, possibly harder, as any other player in the nba. there is really nothing about him that sets him apart from any other self involved pro basketball player.. except that he is better. so don't hate. ;)

No comments: